News: Economics Student Sarah Tinsley Named 2020 Joseph K. Heyman Scholarship Recipient

Sarah Tinsley

Posted March 21, 2020

Sarah Tinsley, a fourth-year student in the Georgia Institute of Technology School of Economics, was awarded the 2020 Joseph K. Heyman Scholarship from the Atlanta Economics Club (AEC).

Named for the AEC's founder and first president, the scholarship is awarded to outstanding undergraduate or graduate economics students enrolled at a metro Atlanta college or university. In total, AEC has awarded scholarship winners roughly $26,000 since 1992.

Tinsley has achieved notable accomplishments across disciplines at Georgia Tech. She has worked as a research assistant on a Georgia Department of Transportation project, evaluating the costs and benefits of bicycle use in major metropolitan areas. She also was on the team that won the 2019 JUMP into STEM national competition, creating a project on a “Home Energy Score Interactive Dashboard” to measure in-home energy efficiency. Tinsley has recently been working in a co-op program with Southern Company.

“Ms. Tinsley embodies all the best qualities of our students: She is smart, curious, engaged and civic-minded,” said School of Economics chair Laura Taylor. “She is a star, and we couldn’t be prouder to have her in our program and representing our discipline.”

This is the second straight year that a School of Economics student has been awarded the Joseph K. Heyman Scholarship, after Fernanda Arcaraz and Celine Apollon in 2019.

The School of Economics is a unit of Georgia Tech’s Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts.

Contact For More Information

Rebecca Keane
Director of Communications